Category: 2000-2009

Team Captains 2009

First XI Ian Bryant
Second XI John Stirk
Third XI Darren Smith
Fourth XI Brad Walker
Fifth XI Michael Humphrey
Sixth XI Brian Dawbarn
Sunday XI Ian Bryant
Indoor VI Ian Bryant
Women & Girl’s XI Marie Kelly

2009 Review

The 2009 season saw Rayleigh with five teams playing league cricket for the first time. The First team competed in Division 2, the Second team in Division 5, the Third team promoted to Division 8, the Fourth team promoted to Division 10 and the Fifth team were accepted into Division 11 of the T-Rippon League.

The First team started their league season with 2 new signings (Imran Shah and Mike Walsh) and they outplayed all of their league opposition for most of the season. They lead Division 2 all season – only losing a few games when promotion was certain. The League 2 title nearly went down to a nail biting finish – but more of that later. However, the other teams had a more mixed season as you will see.

2009 was also the year that the Rayleigh Women & Girls team made its debut. They combined their forces with Rankins and entered the Beaumont Seymour Essex Women&8217;s Cricket League (South) — a 20 over per side competition and played their matches on a Friday evening.

There were a 6 regular colts teams who also completed all of the their league matches along with a number of friendly games and several of the Colts showed their potential whilst turning out for the adult teams.

Continue reading “2009 Review”

Extract from Chairman’s Report 2009

7th XI

Only played 3 games but could have played more if we could have found opposition.

6th XI

The 6th XI picked up most of last year’s 5th XI fixtures and struggled as a result. Some excellent bowling performances by our colts in this team but the opposition bowling was often too strong for our batting.

Both these teams gave good experience of adult cricket for some of younger colts.

Continue reading “Extract from Chairman’s Report 2009”